New England's source for mountain bike trails, bike pictures, trail maps and more  
HOME NEWS FORUM TRAILS PHOTOS LINKS ABOUT US

Search by Keyword:

Region:
Find a local ride in your area
Check out our to find a ride in your neck of the woods.
Sign up to get your copy of Rubber Side Down, chuck full of news, interviews, bike tips, contests and more!


Newsletter Account Page

New Endland bike trails, bike pictures, trail maps and more

32 Reviews Found


Wed May 14, 2003
Revieded By: I Are Baboon from Newington, CT
Rating: 5 out of 5

I usually ride the Pattaconk Lake area of Cockaponset. The trails are phenomenal. 20+ miles of rocky, technical singletrack. You can spend an entire day getting lost in this trail system. There are a few spots with stunts set up. There are no major climbs here, but there are several quick, steep climbs that will keep you legs working.

Thu Feb 12, 2004
Revieded By: Patrick from CT River Valley
Rating: 1 out of 5

I ride Cockaponset ocassionally and there is no reason for anyone to come here to ride. Stay away, there is nothing to see here. Go to the West Hartford rez instead, you will definataly have more fun.

Tue Jul 20, 2004
Revieded By: from
Rating: 0 out of 5

Mon Aug 30, 2004
Revieded By: from
Rating: 0 out of 5

Thu Nov 11, 2004
Revieded By: ngnhgt from
Rating: 0 out of 5

Thu Nov 11, 2004
Revieded By: fefqe from mg
Rating: 5 out of 5

Sat Mar 19, 2005
Revieded By: tyler wasson from newton mass.
Rating: 5 out of 5

this trail was exiting. It was filled with all different kinds of terain. It was defidentlly the best place i have been to this year i hope to go again soon
sincerelly,
TYLER WASSON

Wed Jun 15, 2005
Revieded By: from
Rating: 0 out of 5

Thu Jul 21, 2005
Revieded By: John from Groton
Rating: 4 out of 5

I have been doing the occasional ride in Cockaponset for close to ten years. I

Fri Sep 9, 2005
Revieded By: Dave from Norwalk, CT
Rating: 5 out of 5

This place rocks! I did 20 miles of awesome riding... Trails can get a little confusing because they cross each other! No steep climbs, but the northern part of the forest is the best riding in the place, plenty of technical rock gardens, steep drops and steep climbs. Bring plent of water as you can get lost real easily!!!

Fri Feb 17, 2006
Revieded By: Rob Butterworth from Haddam, CT
Rating: 3 out of 5

As noted, the Cockaponset has some of the best trail riding around-don't lose it by riding on off limits trails.

Please be aware that the blue (Cockaponset Trail) and blue/red trails (North and South Pattaconk, Old Forest and Wildwood Trails) are hiking trails only. They have not been opened to "attract visitors". Only short sections that run co-linear with other trails allow bikes.

The DEP maps posted at the trail heads state that they are hiking only. The DEP website (where you can also find the maps) also states that the blues are hiking only trails ( http://www.dep.state.ct.us/stateparks/recinfo/mtnbike.htm ) as does the CTNEMBA page ( http://www.ctnemba.com/portal/index.php?module=ContentExpress&func=display&btitle=CE&mid=&ceid=5 )

To my knowledge, all other trails are open to bikes. Have fun and ride smart!

Sat Apr 29, 2006
Revieded By: jordan witkoski from burlington ct
Rating: 2 out of 5

i recently went to cockaponset state forest, i was excited to go on some of the log rides and ladder bridges that i herd about. I spent 4 hrs there and did not find one. Most of thr trails were steep up hills very boring, there were a few cool down hills, but mostly up hill. i also thought that the trails were poorly marked and it was hard to find where u were goin....last but not least the directions sucked i spent 30 min trying to find the parking lot and never found it.

Tue May 1, 2007
Revieded By: Rob Butterworth from Haddam
Rating: 0 out of 5

Please down load the maps from the DEP site or read the trail head Maps. The blue and blue/red trails are the ONLY trails that footpath only. That means no bikes, horses, ATVS etc. Get the maps and ride right! Have fun, it's all good.

Sat Jul 7, 2007
Revieded By: David Francefort from Norwalk, CT
Rating: 3 out of 5

All the main trails run north-south and they cross dirt roads going east-west. I rode here on a 90 degree day, so punishment was inflicted. We did about 28 miles and it was painful and great at the same time. Not a ton of super technical, but great flow on most of the trails. Some of the rock gardens were pretty tough. Just an all around great day on the trails. You may want to bring a GPS as we ended up in the same place a few times.

Thu Aug 20, 2009
Revieded By: xgnctba from KaqjpVkzkMCjRKx
Rating: 4 out of 5

zWQ49H dhjufjjovccf, [url=http://wwfsyiezgxbz.com/]wwfsyiezgxbz[/url], [link=http://negxfpbicyiu.com/]negxfpbicyiu[/link], http://pgtnddxwupcm.com/

Thu Aug 20, 2009
Revieded By: jhzyta from EVOLRMVdYbIgX
Rating: 3 out of 5

m4Z3lX oamhcwjjhppa, [url=http://iximxcturdbp.com/]iximxcturdbp[/url], [link=http://dkleqlhdkldf.com/]dkleqlhdkldf[/link], http://bqykcaasqmpz.com/

Sat Sep 5, 2009
Revieded By: czimborbryan from Deep River, CT
Rating: 4 out of 5

According to most publications, Cockaponset has only 30 miles of trails, but if you inquire with Connecticut Explorer's Guide, you will see that there are 100 miles of trails! To view the trail maps, go to http://www.ctxguide.com/ctxguide_009.htm and click on the label of choice from the map.

Sat Jul 31, 2010
Revieded By: yzvonn from NY
Rating: 2 out of 5

u0YIQV wooantvscgzx, [url=http://rjtqprdhdjfk.com/]rjtqprdhdjfk[/url], [link=http://kyiovnspbvdi.com/]kyiovnspbvdi[/link], http://mgwifczglfoj.com/

Thu Aug 5, 2010
Revieded By: jsxtsdh from ARoWxiRXDIA
Rating: 3 out of 5

zqq4o0 rlsgagdatjwa, [url=http://rxnfpxbrtokv.com/]rxnfpxbrtokv[/url], [link=http://zztabydfszlp.com/]zztabydfszlp[/link], http://seumpzcovhri.com/

Mon Oct 25, 2010
Revieded By: pdihealev from CrLcdGOWQRDOourUH
Rating: 3 out of 5

oyLBmk xdjecxgpmwzt, [url=http://tecjoqqcjhsu.com/]tecjoqqcjhsu[/url], [link=http://jpgcrpnzouil.com/]jpgcrpnzouil[/link], http://ohvexbnqfclb.com/

Wed Nov 10, 2010
Revieded By: vrnmucke from pZMxytSJnEGHrhhxo
Rating: 3 out of 5

7CUrlj orzfhfjolikj, [url=http://nwmnwoozvkqx.com/]nwmnwoozvkqx[/url], [link=http://cvdqsqtkzlkp.com/]cvdqsqtkzlkp[/link], http://wfdmaziffepy.com/

Wed Mar 19, 2014
Revieded By: wholesale bags from wholesale bags
Rating: 0 out of 5

New England source for mountain bike trails, bike pictures, trail maps and more.
wholesale bags http://www.googletest.com

Wed Mar 19, 2014
Revieded By: wholesale bags from wholesale bags
Rating: 0 out of 5

New England source for mountain bike trails, bike pictures, trail maps and more.
wholesale bags http://www.googletest.com

Thu Mar 20, 2014
Revieded By: wholesale bags from wholesale bags
Rating: 0 out of 5

New England source for mountain bike trails, bike pictures, trail maps and more.
wholesale bags http://www.googletest.com

Thu Mar 20, 2014
Revieded By: wholesale bags from wholesale bags
Rating: 0 out of 5

New England source for mountain bike trails, bike pictures, trail maps and more.
wholesale bags http://www.googletest.com

Tue Jan 19, 2016
Revieded By: fwcrxjnw from 1
Rating: 1 out of 5

1

Tue Jan 19, 2016
Revieded By: jupiijdx from 1
Rating: 2 out of 5

1

Tue Jan 19, 2016
Revieded By: qkjpuptr from 1
Rating: 3 out of 5

1

Tue Jan 19, 2016
Revieded By: xstvkqus from 1
Rating: 1 out of 5

1

Tue Jan 19, 2016
Revieded By: achvnaco from 1
Rating: 2 out of 5

1

Tue Jan 19, 2016
Revieded By: llriahrx from 1
Rating: 3 out of 5

1

Thu Apr 21, 2016
Revieded By: Liliam from No14eZzuULy
Rating: 2 out of 5

To think, I was cofeusnd a minute ago.

All material Copyright © 2002 BustedSpoke.com, All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement to our Terms of Use.